SteemitPoetryContest #10 - Poetic Growth - A poem about you...

in #poetry7 years ago

rosebud-2488630_640.jpg


A poem means nothing until it is heard
For what is just written is only words
The poem as written is but a waiting bud
For the flower to blossom it must be understood


In that blooming moment words transcend paper
They create a feeling that can connect strangers
For a poem is not just the words you see
They're only part of what the poem could be


A poem holds mirrors, reflects back your soul
Only through this can a poem be whole
Something reaches out in this intimacy
And the words grow beyond poetry




My entry for the latest @terrycraft poetry contest, under the theme of growth.



This poem was inspired by all of the wonderful people I have met here, everyone who has taken the time to stop by and read my poetry, all the amazing poetry you have shared, that has sent a chill down my spine, made me laugh, made me cry. I feel so honoured to have shared these other worldly moments. So this poem has to be dedicated to all of you, the Posters, the Hosters, the Comments, the Voters, and the Silent Stoppers-By, who never leave a trace, and especially to @dagger212 and @lyxng - not only do i get the feeling you bring my poems to life when you read them, but your wonderful poems have equally inspired me, i feel i have glimpsed little parts of you, and in doing so, you have shown me part of myself, I am sure you both noticed how directly inspired from conversations we have had this is, so thank you! There are countless other people who have motivated me along the way, you may never know how much your kind words of encouragement meant to me.

You are all so amazing and I am so thankful to everyone! If you are still here, reading all of this, that definitely means you!

Much love - Calluna

Photo Source [https://pixabay.com/en/rosebud-rose-garden-beauty-2488630/]

Sort:  

I have also taken part in this contest,And you look so amazing! That will be fierce competition !

Thank you - i am not sure i will stand a chance in this one, there are always so many entries and they are always all so good!

Haha lets see who wins this time ?

When I was reading your poem I was greatly motivated. Thanks for the wonderful feeling you conveyed through your poem ma'am :)

You are beyond welcome, I am so happy you felt inspired, I look forward to seeing some of your poetry!

beautiful!! upvoted,following. and thanks for your support...Yankee-statman.

Thank you very much!!

Well done, @calluna. As a poet I, too, believe that "a poem is not just the words you see/ They're only part of what the poem could be"

Here's an echo from a tiny poem of mine, featured on NPR:

Bodies are like poems.
A fraction of their power
resides in their skin.

The rest belongs
to the spirit
that swims through.

https://www.npr.org/2012/04/19/150960150/egyptian-american-poet-bodies-are-like-poems

Oh I love that!! It is hard to express how much a poem takes from the person reading it but I am glad you liked it! You most certainly have a way with words yourself!

Thank you, @calluna :) Reading is a collaborative art - a good reader enriches the work and might even illuminate it for the so-called ‘author’! Mystery upon mystery...

Nice poem,,,
Every poem we wrote with feeling pastuli result will be superb,.
I really liked this poem..
Thank you...

Thank you very much, I love the subjectivity of life, and how a poem can mean different things to different people, depending on what they bring when they read it.

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60514.84
ETH 2575.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56