You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @terrycraft's Steemit Poetry Contest #9 Merry Christmas

in #poetry7 years ago

This is so beautiful! I love that you managed to turn it around for a happy ending. Such tragic beauty, for I am sure there are children who won't get anything tomorrow. I am so grateful to all the local churches who organise toy drives and donations, one time as a little kid, my took me to a big centre where all the toy drive presents were laid out and mums could chose one from each section for each child. I was struck so strongly by the realisation these mums were just like my mum, my friends mums, the only difference was circumstance. Your poem brought me back to that moment, where a mum like any other, experiences the joy of presents she didn't think she could give. Good luck - I really hope this one gets chosen!

Sort:  

Thank you very much for the kind words. As I said in the reply to @moeknows above, we truly are very blessed in the grand scheme of things. Simple acts of kindness and giving can really have a profound impact on the world around us. It was a little tricky to fit the feeling I was going for into 12 short lines but I'm glad you found it successful. Merry Christmas...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67422.69
ETH 3492.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70