You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Summer Rain, Sublime (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago

Eric, your summer rain poem was beautiful. When I was growing up in San Francisco, I would look out our bay window and watch the rain fall. I always loved how the soft drops would hit the window softly, making me feel comforted when I was alone. Since then, I always loved April, summer and winter showers. I'm glad you had an aha moment and realized that the rain grounded you as it washed away the stress and overwhelming pressure that occurred recently. Like you said, it reminded you of your youth and freedom and joy you felt. Nature often helps us be reminded that we need to slow down and be one with nature. I'm glad you were inspired to write your poem. It really was heart felt and real. Thank-you! I just bought your book from Amazon and can't wait to read it. You should be very, very proud of what you accomplished! It is just the beginning of your creativity journey. Have a stress free week ahead!.......Cabbagepatch

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment! Those childhood memories are so wonderfully melancholy, aren't they? I have similar memories. I grew up in Columbus Ohio in the 1970's and we were in a cycle of very volatile thunderstorms. My father and I would sit on the covered porch and watch all of the storms pass over from West to East. Sometimes the sky would be as dark as night but, somehow, I was never scared. In fact, it was strangely peaceful.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the poem and it struck a chord. Also, thank you so much for buying a copy of the book! If it's not too much trouble would you be willing to write a review on Amazon after you read it? I would greatly appreciate it. I hope you have a good week as well!

You are so welcome! Your childhood memories are wonderful and very much a part of who you are today. It's funny in that some are scared of thunderstorms but there are many like us who enjoy nature's cleansing of the earth. Have you ever heard of Rod McKuen? He is a poet who I grew up with who had deep and profound poems that I loved. In some ways you remind me of him. When I read your book, I will definitely write a review. I already loved what you shared with us so I know your book will be fantastic! Wishing you continued success!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59020.94
ETH 2603.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44