SteemitPoetryContest #11 - 'The Only One' - Original Poetry

in #poetry7 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-01-13 at 2.58.07 PM.png


The Only One

'I've forgotten what it means to feel,
And just wish for a moment that something real,
Would happen for me, but I suspect,
I'll forever be part of this disconnect

I've dreamt and dreamt for many nights,
But there's been no one to hear my cries,
It's funny how my only one true wish,
Is to feel a feeling that doesn't exist.

I reminisce on what could have been,
And would hope for a day where I could tell a friend,
My deepest thoughts and dreams for life,
Yet I'm the only one who sees my light.'


This is my entry for this week's Steemit Poetry Contest!
The theme of this week was 'Loneliness', and for this poem I tapped into that aspect of my soul and my past when I felt truly disconnected from others and felt like I was totally on my own.


Thank you for reading!
Check out my original music on Musicoin, where each stream directly supports me!

Much love
Bryan Divisions
bryandivisionssignaturefooter.png