the gods lurk in the shadows

in #poetry8 years ago



(i)
the gods lurk in the shadows of the taps, scuttling from hot to cold to stand still & pray
the goddesses pray in the sunlight, basking in white glare & the radiance of white & purple orchids
(ii)
the gods lurk in the shadows, still with notebooks & pencils, webcam-eyes expecting
the goddesses lust in the light, springing flowers, fondling hearts in the pretence of Love
the gods prey in the light, all pious & corrupt, innocent followers tagging along
the goddesses prey in the shadows, insuring survival, manageressing Impermanence
(iii)
the gods & goddesses Sustained in Infinity for reason & no-reason at all

Sort:  

Some context: A praying mantis nest hatched in my bathroom. I lost the original picture of them around my taps and up the wall, but, yesterday, I found a couple around the tap of my water tank.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32