Poem: "Medicinal Day"

in #poetry7 years ago

*This material is copyrighted. It's a poem from my new book, "Poems of a Prodigal." Here in town I have access to a Japanese garden, and a nature preserve, some of my favorite places to visit and write poetry, especially after a rain!

Medicinal Day

The Sun gave a cluster of sparkling diamonds to the
pond.

Geese stood guard like sentinels.

I saw antlers in branches, and imagined gigantic
reindeer underground.

I saw Tyrannosaurus ankles in tree-trunks.

As I strolled a Japanese garden, I watched a brook
salivate in ecstasy over rocks.

At sunset, I inhaled green breath in a forest; oak
lungs exhaled hookah-smoke. Their applewood-
mist made drunk my senses, and I swooned upon
soft clovers.

The evening was cool, its wind maternal.

Unquenched, I burned oils at night, saturating my
walls with distilled clove, lemon, and cinnamon
bark. I concocted an atmosphere.

In a room, I built another breeze.

Screen Shot 2017-11-07 at 5.57.55 PM.png

Sort:  

I bet that garden is beautiful. Love the poem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31