Poem: "As I Lie Next to Her ..."

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

This is my first Steemit post. I am a poet in Los Angeles. This is copyrighted material from my 2nd book, "Poems of a Prodigal." Readers, I hope you enjoy my poems!
--Brandon R. Burdette
Screen Shot 2017-11-07 at 5.57.55 PM.png

As I Lie Next to Her …

As I lie next to her, my fingers spilling her silk strands, I look up at the ceiling in the dark, as if looking up at the stars.
As I lie next to her, her sleeping thigh over my stomach, I understand that I am hoped in.
As I lie next to her, I realize that I will be a cuddled prisoner for the night.
As I lie next to her, the room is cold, but her rhythmic breath heats my neck.
As I lie next to her, the planet revolves, and I couldn’t care less.
As I lie next to her, I think about my past.
As I lie next to her, I decide to sneak away and pen these lines ...

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit Brandon! You are going to do great here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61797.74
ETH 2429.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64