I'm Okay.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

I’m okay.
Okay? What does that mean exactly?
It can either mean we’re actually okay,
Or it’s just a lousy word to hide your pain behind.
Okay.
An emotional cover-up.
A word we feel we can hide behind,
Where no one can see our tears,
Or realize how much we’re really falling apart.
Because I told you I was okay,
Right?
You caught me crying in the washroom yesterday,
Because I was okay.
It’s just a word.
Not everyone speaks the truth.
It’s sometimes used as an agreement.
We’re agreeing to say we’re okay, we’re agreeing to be okay
Because we don’t want people to question us.
We don’t want you to befriend us out of pity,
Or spread rumors that we’re depressed and cut ourselves every single night when we feel alone, just for attention.
Because after those rumors are spread,
There is pity,
And harassment.
No,
I don’t want attention,
I’m just not okay.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54