THE CRAVING TO SHARE!

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Hello beautiful peeps!

This morning I woke up in a really uplifted and positive mood. I had a very restful sleep, and I woke up at leisure, all makings of a good a.m. But more than just feeling good and at ease, I had a strong feeling to share. At first I wasn't sure exactly what I wanted to share and with whom, but the feeling didn't go away. I was starting to feel jittery, and then it came to me!

I am a super newbie to this steemit community and have so far written a few posts on here, and if you have read any thus far you know that I am really into food and attempting to make what I consume healthy. But a huge part of me that I have not yet shared with you all is that I am a writer...a poet to be exact!

I have been writing poetry before I even know it had a name or category. As far as I was concerned I was just letting my inner most thoughts and emotions out in a place only I had access to...a place I didn't have to say them out loud. Throughout the years poetry has been a safe place, a home, an escape, and a means to connect to myself. Through writing and the poetry of many many other incredibly talented poets (I will share my favorites in a different post :), I have been able to heal, grow, and become the woman I am today. The power of poetry has been transformative in my life, and has given me more than an outlet, but a gateway to my deepest layer. I feel poetry itself has saved me in many ways, and it will always be apart of my story and my framework.

Sooooo...in a spirit of sharing and taking a step towards openness and community I wanted to share a piece of mine. I hope you enjoy :)

NO PRETENDING TO DO

it may be said that to fill a basket with
just one persons eggs would be foolish
but i find foolishness in pretending.
you are my happiness
boundless and otherworldly
unattached from this soil of endings
you continue holding my hand
to mornings
of heavy winds that can only hold me up
when my feet tend to sink
on nights when the sky is darker than any hour
you bring the light of dawn to my doorsteps
and sit quietly with me
pulling my every silent desire into your wanting hands
and forming day out of every single one
you are my happiness
that couldn't crawl its way into existence
before I learned to sink into your palms
and let you lay into my open crevices
that only ever held your name
you are every meaning of elation
and interpretation of lasting bliss.
to call on your name
and believe in your step
is my most intricate pleasure.
you hand me the fullest moons of satisfaction
and relieve my infinite paths of craving
you have left my every pocket full
of your purest intention and reliable truth
you are simply the reversal of any heavy grey sky
and insurmountable mess
you are my happiness and
happiness will always be you.
no pretending to do

I love this picture (not mine) that I also wanted to share :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64