4am & Long Distance Love

in #poetry7 years ago

A poem I wrote in thick of long distance love and its intricate aches...

around 4am,
ill grab my phone on my night stand
where I have things that I look for when my eyes first peel open
but I haven't found one big enough to hold your weight yet
around 4am
ill look to see the time
and remember you are wrapped in your own blankets and bed
380 miles away from mine
ill remember that as far as my morning stretch goes
i can't touch you with my cold toes
and your limbs won't reach to wrap around mine

we relish in conversations
while we get ready for bed
soaking into the brake
between sunlight and sunlight
hoping we'll come face to face and hand to hand
in our dreams
in our dreams we can be
every night
we can be

love
when will your light wake me up
so we can be

around 4am
i call you
to see if your dawn is the same color as mine
hoping to share with you
some of my morning
all I can ask you is when

but I know no matter what either of us says
the only way is to slip back into sleep
curl up into the last moment we slept side by side
cling onto a lasting dream
and wait for us to meet

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64625.84
ETH 3233.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65