Happy Retirement

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

An original poem by me.

change.png
(photo modified by me, taken courtesy of Pixabay: https://pixabay.com/en/business-people-the-company-office-1572059/)

#Happy Retirement

I watch the company webpage for retirement announcements
because I want to see what each person says
when asked how they'll spend their free time.

All I think is that it's sad
that the things retirees say they plan to do
are things they could have done all along.

All I think is that I hope
they have many years to enjoy,
because there are not guarantees.

We put pictures of things we'd rather be doing
and people we'd rather be with
on our desks in little styled frames.

Our desks like altars to the god of work,
we give offerings in these symbolic photos,
our time with family and passions sacrificed.

If we're good enough,
if we serve long enough, we can spend
all our time like in those photos.

I read every retirement announcement
because it reminds me not to give up
on wanting and hoping for something else.

I dare to want things now--not later.
I want to spend all my time where I won't need photos,
because all I'll have to do to be happy is look around.

Sort:  

Congratulations @blizzylizzy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Just here to up vote the post of a new friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93