DAY 8: 100 DAYS POETRY CHALLENGE, "CURSED FATE"

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

image

source

The sky is blue, the moon is full
Decked in dirgeful attire, life's fool
My sky chirped, a messy black
From bludgeonings of constant lack.

The sky is blue, the moon is full
A flame in Sahara's fiery storms
Tiny light of mine, long since gone,
An epitaph for a dear rosy morn.

The sky is blue, the moon is full.
At heavens gate an orphan of fate
Washed ashore, the ocean of faith,
Tempest tossed, leaf in the wave
Hung to rot, a cherished destiny.

The sky is blue the moon is full
Cast overboard, the ship of hope
Clawing for a dream subterranean
So in droves we drown, in the Mediterranean.

source

This 100 days challenge has indeed been a worthwhile journey so far, the things I have learnt and skills gotten from other participant's entries, the poems I have written(of course I have never written seven poems in eight days prior to this moment). It has been great thus far.
I feel really bad though for missing out on yesterday's entry. Being the student I am, keeping up with this challenge would be extremely hard, but I am determined to do and give in my very best. I already had my poem written but unforeseen circumstances had kept me in school till the deadline had passed. I felt so furious and bad at the same time. I know I have 10 days out of the 100 but I did not plan to miss this early into the challenge.
However, I do hope I soldier on till the end.

THANK YOU FOR READING


Join Steemit school here https://discord.gg/MNCb6NM

Sort:  

Hi Ben
I have a few hurdles that may get in the way of being able to post every day. It is something that I brought up with @d-pend at the beginning of this challenge.
While missing more than 10 days would mean I was not eligible for the big win he said it wouldn't exclude me from continuing to participate.
Being in school is so important. Good on you for putting your education first. Steemit is an admirable pursuit, but making your education your priority and allowing steemit to compliment that you are sure to succeed in your future opportunities.

This is a powerful piece. I often skim through reviews of contest entries, but this one I want to read over and over.
Thank you for taking on this topic. It needs a voice, your words so elegant, a contrast to the devastating subject.
Keep posting, keep studying.
Well done.

Oh my!!
Thank you so much for deeming it fit to take out your time and read through my entry and to give an awesome feedback. I am indeed grateful.
Yes, keeping on with the challenge would be very difficult and yes my education is my priority but i'll try to keep up with steemit in such a way that it would not, in the smallest of ways adversely affect my studies.

While missing more than 10 days would mean I was not eligible for the big win he said it wouldn't exclude me from continuing to participate.

Wow, thank you for that information, the big win does not necessarily matter, what matters is what i learnt and how i was able to develop and improve on my creativity.
While i'd still try to miss not more than 10 days, knowing that even if i missed more than that, i'd still continue participating comes as a relief.

Thank you for taking on this topic. It needs a voice, your words so elegant, a contrast to the devastating subject.

Thank you so much for the feedback, yes the subject really needs a voice, and i am ecstatic to provide that, even though it is still and small. I believe it is the still and small voices that when conglomerated, make the change we desire.

And yes i'd keep on posting, but more importantly, i'd keep on studying.
Thank you so much. I truly appreciate you for your time.

I wrote this on steemit 2 years ago. It is one of the first poems I ever wrote. I had never written a poem before steemit. You reminded me of it today. I wrote it from the perspective a child, which suited my poetic capacity.
It is about children held in detention illegally by Australian government.
https://steemit.com/poetryslamtwo/@girlbeforemirror/poetry-slam-challenge-2-nauru

wow...
You really went into the shoes of these people and brought up their thoughts and emotions really perfectly in your poem of two years ago.
You see most of them are ecstatic at first, thinking they are going some perfect place. So they take unimaginable risks just to fulfill their dreams of living "the life". However, most times what follows is apprehension and finally regret. Its most regrettable that children are sometimes caught up in this web too. Just like the children of Nauru you talked about.

We’d drift towards a land of Eden,
And finally we’d live in freedom.

Exactly their thoughts, but most times they only drift towards hell and to death. I mean thousands of illegal immigrants drown yearly but that is not enough to stop others. It is very pathetic, but it is not entirely their fault. If their governments provided for them and really cared, maybe this would have been one problem less from the problems our world faces. But on the flipside, nowhere is truly best to live, it all begins in the mind. If you truly desire and work to be happy wherever you are, then you'd surely be.

I am Nigerian and this reminds me of recent events, several Nigerians who went to Libya in the hopes of going to Europe are being helped to return by the government. Most of them tell horrible tales of the conditions they face and their single advice is always, " stay where you are, whatever conditions you're facing is far better than what we faced". But i think this problem is far from over.

What about the children of Nauru? I hope they finally regained freedom.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blessedben from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64