Dear Boo Bear. STEEMIT SLAM 'leaving' entry.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Dear boo Bear,

To be fair, I gave you this nickname, before your personality developed, whether it will help or hinder only time will tell.

You've come a long way from the fragile sack of goo we fell in love with.
As you learned to walk, mimic then mock, climb and gracefully fall, I've been here through it all.
And now you leave. Only for a month, but only for a month is what all children believe.

You'll be home,

and I'll be waiting here, and I'll have missed a chapter in the book that this far we have read together, and I'm so sad, and yet I know it's greedy, you don't really need me and there is so much more to see, you'll be out enjoying new places, new faces, while I sit here, captured in my day to day half a world away.

Only a month.

I'll keep telling myself, but at your beginnings, where you know my name and know I'm Daddy, although just a mimic of knowledge, the word spoken astounds me, drives it home where I'll sit alone quietly.

How will it change you, can so little time estrange you? Will you think of, will you remember me?

I hope you do, but not sadly. I hope you realize I have not abandon you, and never could do, such a part of me shot straight from the heart of me.

The precepts of the concept of love must be planted in your mind some how by now, and I hope you know how much I love you.

Have fun in India, may the joys and wonders sparkle your eyes, the elephants and monkies make you smile and your family there be caring warm and sharing.

In a month, you'll return, and your daddy will be here with arms wide open when you do, and everyday till then, I'll be thinking of you and mommy too.

Love Dad.

//////..some photos my wife sent..\\\
image.jpeg Bathtub in India

image.jpegMischievous in random store

image.jpegMy wife is a regular Anne Geddes😂

image.pngSharing cookies over FaceTimeimage.png

The month of February 2016 was the longest one on record. Luckily everyone made it back from the trip safe and sound.

Sort:  

he's so cute!!

Thank you. I missed him dearly. Glad it was only a month.

I got teary eyed reading this, your family and you are lucky to have each other :)

We're in a good place. I feel very lucky. Hard work only takes you so far, luck has been very good to me.

That's all anyone really needs :)

How sweet, thanks for sharing your honest emotions with us :)

It was a hard moment for me, when I was younger I suffered severe separation anxiety. After saying goodbye to my bio parents when I was 5, my best friend when I was 10, almost everyone I went to school with in Grade 8.... It took me years of saying goodbyes to not break down and cry, it took me meeting them again to realize that goodbye isn't always death, it could be the final goodbye, but usually it's a see you later, perhaps, in this small world and long life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76