Final Goodbye - A Poem about First Love and First Heartbreak

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I wrote this poem when I was seventeen for my ex-boyfriend as a letter of goodbye. He was moving to the other end of the world, and we were too young for there to be a realistic chance for us. We both knew that, and the decision to part ways was an unspoken deal we had both agreed to. He was my first love, and I think there is a fearlessness and innocence when you love someone for the first time. Because you haven't built up any protective walls to shield your heart from hurt yet.


The Final Goodbye

A million thoughts,
you occupied.
I kept them locked up,
in a secret corner of my mind
Treasured
Happiness
A kind that I hoped would be mine someday.

When did it start?
-I didn't notice.

We met.
Words followed.
Both spoken and not.
We knew all along, but couldn't say.

My mistake, I called you
The one I would never set right
My very own.
And I wouldn't have it any other way.

A few thousand thoughts
There just aren't enough words.
The end is terrifyingly close.
I don't feel ready to give you up.

Not yet.
My mind screams.
It can't be time already.
I'm not done loving you just yet.

We met.
Under the hourglass
A mere trickle
That's all it took.
To first bring us together
Then set us apart.


Picture credits


Thanks for reading, I hope you liked the poem. Please re-steem, upvote and check out my new blog @bkochar if you did.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bkochar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52