Cityscape Fragments

in #poetrylast month

Greetings, Steemit community!

It's been a while. I think I'd intended to try out Hive sometime, but I don't know if I made an account there... I found my password for Steemit, so I thought I'd share a bit of modernist poetry while I'm here :-)


Cityscape Fragments


Beneath the drone of metallic sighs
Interlaced with shadows
A labyrinth of steel and glass lays bare
The flickering street lights
Hiding stars in a concrete sky
Fading echoes of yesterday’s laughter
Whispers through the alleys
Cloaked in a loss of identity
Voices splinter
Disjointed conversations
Leak from subway grates
Lost in the churn of restless feet
Fragments of dreams
Dance on the billboards’ neon sheen
Futures imagined in the staccato
Of hurried steps and distant sirens
The skyscrapers stand silent
Their glass eyes as witnesses to the nameless
The drifters and the daydreamers
Those who weave through shadows of the streets


I’d love to hear your thoughts on this piece. Much love, and have a wonderful day! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56111.00
ETH 2371.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31