I am a Girl

in #poetry8 years ago

 

I am a body 

am a girl

With blood of whom

Shall fight the words

Of men who judge

On common roads

With tar of gender

Defining worth

And how dare I

Accept the truth

Of cooking up

In hiding shadows

 

I am a girl

I am a girl

And this shall not

Define my strength

For strength is what

I use to build

The wall in which

The cackling men

Attempt to break

But have to climb

To see the death

Of weaker acts

For I will not

Accept the fate

Of soaring birds

Inside my soul

And sprinting herds

That I uphold

 

And I will bulk

And lift and grow

And men won’t dare

To spoon feed mouths

That greater sex

Is man and size

And not a girl

With passion full

And will not boast

With such high zest

That they are men

And we are small

 

I am a girl

I am a girl

And I will not

Accept a man

Whom to this day

Claims guilt free form

For touching lean

Without a grant

From girl who owns

Her body dressed

In said to be

Such pleading skirts

That long for feel

From thoughtless man

No

 

I will not let go

Of disrespect

Nor men who think

I dress for them

And lash my hem

To flash at them

For approval of men

Who look below

And not within

My fighting heart

 

I am a girl

am a girl

And I see war

But not the war

With men one side

And women other

But men on side

And women weapon

To his hide

And many float

For peaceful sake

But I myself

Will not partake

- Bianca Gain




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57378.99
ETH 3121.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24