Melodies #1: The Road Not Taken By Robert Frost

in #poetry6 years ago

Hey Steemit

I have been riding for the past three days amidst the woods of Chikmagalur and the air around me felt like icicles due to the rain. Even when I was in Bali recently, we rode in their lush rubber forests. Being surrounded by the green along with the adrenaline rush puts me in a pensive mood. It takes me back to this poem by Robert Frost where he talks about being at the cross roads of his life where he had to make a choice. I remember the choices I had to make, to be in a secured MNC job or be greeted by cuts and bruises while jumping across the woods. Robert Frost may have been on a horse and I on a motorcycle and this poem may be decades old, but I can still relate to every stanza. I too took the path less travelled by and it made all the difference.

The Road Not Taken

By Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveler, long I stood

And looked down one as far as I could

To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,

And having perhaps the better claim,

Because it was grassy and wanted wear;

Though as for that the passing there.

Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay

In leaves no step had trodden black.

Oh, I kept the first for another day!

Yet knowing how way leads on to way,

I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh

In leaves no step had trodden black.

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.

------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for reading and stay tuned for more blogs

If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You can also check my recent posts:

1. Ride with me #16 :The Wine Experience in India Part 2

2.Ride with me #15 :The Wine Experience in India Part 1

3.Yummy Tummy #1 : Ramadan Delicacies in India!

4.Rock Me Fabulous : Photoshoot

Sort:  

nice KTM! Keep up the good riding! Ive got a KTM 200 that I race back here in the United States! Mix that gas!

That's awesome.. I'll be heading to US later this year for some trails too, cya soon @motoengineer

Awe yes! the road less traveled. Looks like it was an awsome ride!

Always fun and awesome experiences @andre-ager 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64143.01
ETH 3154.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86