I LET HER BURN

in #poetry6 years ago

IMG_20180719_173126_868.JPG

Can you see the tears from ma face
Swiftly rolling down ma cheeks
Like angry rivers flowing towards the calm
Atlantic
Aren't you pissed with the slimy green mucus
Dripping outta ma nose
While ma tongue and helpless lips play Romeo
and Juliet
Like a 3-year old kid passionately rolling his
tongue
Round the delectable head of a roll-a-Cola
candy
As they find way into ma mouth
See ma glossy face? It's ruined
And in desperate need of a pristine touch
Ma glass heart shattered into pieces
Like dry bones of fallen soldiers in a desert
battlefield
Shattered and scattered all round
And married with the abundant soft sand
For I still find the situation hard to believe
Didn't you use to tell me of how
You'd pluck the stars for me if you could
To prove your love?
How can I forget how you used to adorn me
And how you use to tell about ma smile
About how it always made your heart freeze
About ma eyelashes
And why they are the only Christmas lights
That deserves to be seen all year long
Truly, I still find the situation hard to believe
And I still marvel at how foolish I'd been
How I'd use to say
"If love is a crime, I would go to jail a hundred
times for you until the guards wouldn't let
me in anymore 'cause they got tired of seeing
ma face
But that's 'cause when it comes to you
There is no crime
So I gave ma all to you
And now love, love is making me cry
I thought as much
Like I had this sudden conviction about us
You were so close yet it felt like you were
miles away
And I feel I shouldn't have said that to you
Look, I am guilty of calling us toast
But I never knew you were at your lowest
That it had got to the point you needed me by
your side the most
I should have known sooner
But to be honest, I still find the situation hard
to believe
And even if I know you can't hear me
And all I am saying seems to be nothing but a
condolence to the thin air
That won't give me just this slightest hint of
a reply even if it's just a sigh
Here I am, as worthless as broken glass
To grieve knowing I will get to see your face
no more
Staring at your lifeless body one last time
I just might have to live the rest of my life with
the guilt burning inside of me
The guilt of knowing I could have saved you
But I was so blinded by selfishness and rage
That I never knew all these time
While your body and soul writhe in pain
I was standing right there, watching
And with the last I LOVE YOU, I let her burn

And with the last I LOVE YOU, I let her burn

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99