[Poem - With Recitation] - The Animal In Me

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

00130.png
abstract-eye-19401_1920(sm).jpg


This face you think is me, it's just a mask,
And to hide what lies behind, its' only task,
For my true face never wants to be revealed,
But to live inside this mask and stay concealed.

I know just how to smile, wide openly,
And I've learned just how to grin, disarmingly,
For I've found that helps to strengthen my disguise,
By distracting from my predatory eyes...

I know just how to act, I know the dance,
But I'll pounce on you if given half a chance,
For my stalking skill is good, you won't beware,
Until, too late, I strike, and rip and tear!

You may think you know me, but you don't,
So try to understand me, and you won't,
For this camouflage is all you'll ever see,
This mask that hides the animal in me.



The "Dangerous Eye" image is used courtesy of a Creative Commons license, and is originally from here:

Thanks for reading and perhaps listening.

Sort:  

awesome poem

Thanks, @jcobs. I appreciate it.

I love your poem... Thank you for share

I am gratified, @jahangirwifii. Thank you again!

Wow .. Excellent Post. I like your post. Thanks for sharing.

You are welcome and thank you for your kind comment.

There lies in all of us the capacity for finer and truer things. There lies also the need and it calls us to the base and to fear. Animal or angel, what will we be today? A great write as always, BH:)

Thanks, P. Your comments often give me food for thought.

On one hand, the poem brings up a creepy, weirdness that's so relevant in today's society of neverending surveillance while underlining an Orwellian undertone. In a simpler way, it sparks fear through the unknown - by acknowledging the presence of a hidden serial killer among us? Excellent work!

Well! Although I was hoping for a bit of ambiguity I was probably aiming more for the latter meaning, but I must say your first interpretation is an interesting one and has inspired a new poem with that theme, which I hope to post sometime next week. Thank you, @fcpway!

As a side note, China has one of the largest surveillance systems under construction. You might want to look into it for ideas.

One word for your poem - Fantastic. :)

Thank you, @preety! That one word is much appreciated!

There lies conjointly the necessity and it calls USA to the bottom and to concern. Animal or angel, what's going to we tend to be today? an excellent write as continuously

Thank you very much, @farhad3322. I appreciate your taking the time to post a comment.

Really fantastic poem. You always great @bhmcintosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62