[Poem - With Recitation] - Mind Frames

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

00123.png


I found an image that I thought works fairly well with this poem. You can find the original image, which is provided under Creative Commons license, right here:


man-woman--2933991_1920(sm).jpg


MInd Frames

I thought of you as just a thing,
And never really tried to see,
The person right in front of me,
Not just a cog in the machine,
This clockwork we've been worshipping.

Do you also only look at me,
As just another faceless drone,
Some robot that proves you're alone,
In a world that doesn't give a care,
Is that also what you see?

Can I look at you another way,
Can I break the frame my mind has made,
That pretends in petty masquerade,
To know the how and why and what of you,
And dismiss it all away?

Can you look at me as something more,
A person with a heart and mind,
With hopes and dreams and want to find,
Some path that leads you to my home.
Perhaps to find an open door?

I think that if we never try,
To find the human heart within,
We'll never know what could have been,
If we only had the guts to stand,
And all the world defy.



PS: Thanks for reading and perhaps listening.
Sort:  

Wonderful poem. Thanks for sharing such a beautiful poem. Resteem.

Thanks for continuing to take the time to comment and for the resteem! I do appreciate both.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63313.88
ETH 2629.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76