[Poem - With Recitation] - Just Deserts

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

00113.png


I want to make one final wish,
that you might look upon my life,
and call on time to bear witness,
to violent start and sad finish,
and pity me who knew not what,
but tooth and claw and knife and fist.

I make that wish with all my heart,
as feebly as it sometimes beats,
that you believe I tried to do my part,
that I tried to make some poor amends,
and end the cycle pain repeats.

Too late to take away the grief,
and all the hurtful deeds I've done,
for I never cared, nor gave relief,
to those good souls deserving some,
but nothing good could come from me,
who lived on hate and loved no one.

But I can make amends through suffering,
and show I also have some hurts,
and these sorrows have no end for me,
they make a prisoner of my soul,
my sentence life, my just deserts.


PS: Thanks for reading and perhaps listening.
Sort:  

Listening its amazing also nice poetry @bhmcintosh

Thanks for your comment and for listening, as well.

good poem, I was carried away while reading it. thanks

Well, thanks! And thanks for taking the time to leave a comment.

Does suffering ever make amends? In my experience suffering offers the illusion of being close to those one has lost. I see it more as a trap that serves no one. Suffering serves more suffering. Sorry to get all metaphysical on you, but this message came rather clear to me with your write. I apologize if I have over-stepped. The poem is a deeply-powerful one:)

I believe I see where you're coming from, P. I can't say that another's sorrow, their pained regret, can ever satisfy another's desire (I think, very human desire) for some sense of justice (AKA karmic retribution), but from the viewpoint of the poem's pitiful, perhaps unforgivable character, sorrow was at least an expression that might help achieve that in some sense. At least, that's what I feel when I try to get back into that character's mind frame. :) And btw, I am so happy you would even care to comment, metaphysically or otherwise and you have by no means overstepped any boundary of any kind! Thanks for speaking your mind!

Yes ... as a character piece, it works wonderfully:)

you are right. There will be something to do in life, everyone will be surprised

Thanks for leaving your comment, @farhad3322. I appreciate it.

I want to make one final wish,
that you might look upon my life....

excellent poem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61904.26
ETH 2409.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68