[Poem - With Recitation] - Food for Thought

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

00122.png


I feel fortunate that I was able to find this image. I like how the meat of the walnut is such a good stand-in for the human brain. You can find the original image, which is provided under Creative Commons license, right here:


walnut-3072652_1920(sm).jpg


Food for Thought

My hope, good Sir or Ma'am that reads these words,
is that you'll spare some food for thought,
for these rumblings that I feel and hear reveal
disfavor for this condition that I feel and fear,
and my brain cells also suffer with my gut,
which feels an ache as painful as an unused plate
and empty cup, and my body in this waning state
craves naught except to stab and scoop and slice
clean through, and then to tear and grind and
chomp and chew, therefore I wait in hope of that
which satisfies and vivifies the body and the mind,
the body to its' healthy vigor and the mind to
natural clarity and rigor, if you would be so kind.



PS: Thanks for reading and perhaps listening.
Sort:  

awesome

It was surprising for me to learn too that my gut and what I put into it had a lot to do with my personality. Great write in metaphor here, BH:)

Yes, it took a while before I caught on to the connection! Thanks, P.

Nice poem. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful poem. Resteem.

Thanks for the kind comments and the resteem, @aburashed. I am grateful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77