. . . You Are Gone . . .

in #poetry6 years ago

 As I hold onto your hand and stare,
I swear I see you move.
I look around, watching all the grief,
unable to let go of your hand.


Everyone is crying;
everyone but me
I cannot believe that ‘you are gone’!

Please, just open your eyes
or squeeze my hand, just one last time
before I let go.

I wait for you to wake up
and find myself nudging you . . .
don’t leave me so soon.


Did I do something to make you mad?
I’m sorry! - sorry for everything!


Please come back now.OH-NO! They are coming for you
to close the top and place you in a hole.

Quick, Wake-Up . . . Now! Now!
It’s going to be too late if you don’t hurry!

They want me to let you go . . .
but . . . I love you!The casket is closed now and you are gone
I cannot believe it.

Everyone is leaving,
leaving you all by yourself.I find a chair in the corner - don’t worry,
I won’t leave you.


The room is empty
except for you and me. 

As I look at your closed casket,
I bury my head in my hands
and cry until I hold no more tears.Why did you leave me?
I’m not angry, it’s just that …
‘I LOVE YOU!’

~ Beth

This was a dream I had about my grandfather passing away and it was so real that I woke up and wrote this poem. However, none of this happened at the time. 

Sort:  

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

@artzone, I will do. Thanks much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44