The Daily Poem! #2 - Stop Time

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

The topic is the hardest part! Your suggestions greatly appreciated 🖤

I've challenged myself to write a poem-a-day for the remainder of February (and maybe into March, we'll see how it goes...). Now that the Daily Doodle is a thing, and I know that I'm actually capable of creating and posting a brand new drawing each day, I'd like to see if I can do the same with poetry.

The hardest part for me is often coming up with a topic! So please, if there's something you'd like to read a poem about, post your idea in the comments below. No topic too trivial, too deep, or too weird. It could be anything from "the meaning of life" to "used bubble gum".

And now, without any further ado, here is today's poem:

Stop Time

My son thinks he can stop time.
His favorite words are "wait"
"Not yet"
"Hold on"
"Just give me a minute".
How often have I turned to him in desperation
After being balked by his steadfast lack of interest
In being punctual for whatever-was-so-important-it-couldn't-wait
And said:
"It keeps going
Whether we want it to or not.
It can't be stopped".

Somehow even this impassioned appeal to reason
Doesn't seem to phase him.
The malleability of time
Is a given to him
Not a question
But a statement
And I begin to think:
What if he knows something I don't?
What if
Left untainted by my own learned behavior
He might have grown into his superpowers:
The ability to slow or stop time
Rewind it
Speed it up...

And I'm ruining it.

Pffft.

Just like a parent.

I write this at 1:30 in the morning
With a day job waiting for me when the sun comes up.

©2018 Bennett Italia

IOW COLOR MAP.png

Sort:  

This Post Has Been Included In The Daily Dose of Poetry and Prose #32 . Also You got an upgoat worth roughly 0.27$ in post rewards. Enjoy.

Yay!!!! Thank you @poetsunited <3 <3 <3

I acutally laughed out loud at the first lines! I do think that we, as society, tend to put too much pressure on time. Everyone wants instant messages, quick replies, and that may be distracting and lowering the quality of our life.

It's true... rigid schedules can be stressful. I feel for the little guy.

For all of us really XD

Oh, this is wonderful, @bennettitalia, just wonderful:

And I begin to think:
What if he knows something I don't?
What if
Left untainted by my own learned behavior
He might have grown into his superpowers:
The ability to slow or stop time
Rewind it
Speed it up...

And I'm ruining it.

indeed, what if?

RIGHT???

Who knows what kind of world this could be without the preconceived notions passed from generation to generation :D

Thank you so much @authorofthings, I'm so glad you liked it.

I'm so surprised these are written mostly stream-of-consciousness as free writes, Bennett, because man do they come out so fully formed!

As seems to be the case with much of your writing, my favorite is in the ending, the breaking the fourth wall where the narrator and the reader get a laugh at what has all lead to this point.

Thank you for sharing, my man! excited to keep following the series!

These aren't really free writes, the challenge I've set myself is to write a poem a day, but sometimes there's quite a bit of editing involved. Other times not so much, but that's because I have a tendency to kind of feel my way through the lines as I'm writing and choose ones that I can feel are heading me in the direction I want to go.

Lol yes, it's important to me to go out with a bang when I'm writing a poem. To quote @poetrybyjeremy, from his response to one of my pieces "The ending is everything! Everything!" :D

Glad you're liking these @carmalain7! And thanks for following the series :)

Ahahaha I love that you are quoting the dramatic flare of my comments!

right?!?

Definitely quotable :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Great Piece... Nicely done... I can relate to the experience as well.. These new age kids are just phenomenal :) .

Seriously phenomenal :D

Thanks @angelveselinov, glad you enjoyed the piece!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This post has received a 3.05 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @bennettitalia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15