You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Danger of Automatic Writing (Day 3)

in #poetry6 years ago

Love the nonstop word play in this Yahia! "Bounced reality checks" "Old habits hardly die..."

My favorite line: "Hope, the window we turn to/when the living room turns on us". Brilliant.

This is an interesting window into your inner world... it makes me want to try some stream of consciousness poetry.

Sort:  

Thanks, for noticing, amico :) I was afraid all the play might sound frivolous, but I could not help myself...

I think all poetry is, to an extent, stream of consciousness and your fine doodles I regard as a form of automatic drawing. I look forward to seeing the results of your conscious, unconscious writing and peeking further into your world! Have a lovely day, and thank you for stopping by, dear @bennettitalia _/|_

Good play is always serious, isn't it, no matter how frivolous it seems on the surface? The whimsicality of this piece is deceptive I think: stylistically it's breezy and casual, but thematically it's playing for keeps. What is this identity I clothe myself in? Am I even real? And if not, what am I? What is it I seek, so furiously, so relentlessly, what am I digging for? Am I looking for meaning where there is none? Or avoiding looking at the deeper meaning of things for fear I won't like it? These are the kinds of questions it brings up in me, life or death questions. I like the juxtaposition of stylistic nonchalance with a thematic fucking death grip, it makes for a narrative voice that is dissociative but at the same time self-aware, self-questioning, fitting the poem's themes perfectly.

Then again I could be completely full of shit, it's late and I hardly know what I'm writing anymore :D

Off to bed for me. Goodnight my friend.

Yes, good play is always serious... You speak me better than I can at the moment, my articulate, perceptive friend. This made me snort outloud: "the juxtaposition of stylistic nonchalance with a thematic fucking death grip"

Mmhmm... Identity, self-aware, self-questioning, you got it all! 'All art is, at once, surface and symbol' cautions Oscar Wilde, 'those who go beneath the surface do so at their own peril.'

Thanks, for taking the plunge, man. Wishing you a restorative weekend. Cheers!

Glad that got a laugh, it made me chuckle when I wrote it TBH. Spot on with the Oscar Wilde quote, that infinite space between surface and symbol is the artists' playground I think. Also: anytime someone manages to work Oscar Wilde into the conversation, it makes my day. I'm easy to please like that :D

Have a beautiful weekend Yahia!

Cheers, mate! It's important to be able to tickle oneself :P

And, since you care for Oscar (and if have the time for a fairly long read) here's an essay about that great contrarian that you might enjoy:

https://steemit.com/blog/@yahialababidi/the-twin-souls-of-oscar-wilde-and-friedrich-nietzsche

Be well :)

Ah! just saw this Yahia. And off to read it directly :)

Great, hope you enjoy it ✌🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64407.71
ETH 3414.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62