You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: After the Flood

in #poetry7 years ago

"With every breath my chest expands./every inhalation draws you in./My soul is too big inside."

I love this! Poems of exultation and joy are rare beasts these days, and difficult to pull off, from my perspective, without sounding contrived. The voice in this poem feels so real, the personality so human and yet so alien at the same time: "I guard you, my children./I grow large with you."

I love poems that trick me into expanding my own awareness beyond what I'm used to :)

Sort:  

I love poems that trick me into expanding my own awareness beyond what I'm used to :)

I keep wondering about this. Can you get something out of poetry that you were not ready to learn, that on some level, you already knew?

And I'm surprised poems of exultation and joy are rare, isn't that what most love poems are? Sure, I've been seeing an uptick in melancholic ones lately, but I think the happy ones are still the more common? Hm. I'll have to take a look around again.

And thank you! And isn't that sort of what it is to be a parent? Both human and alien to and from your children?

Lol maybe I'm just not seeing them ;)

That first question is unanswerable I think... at the very least I think a good poem can give you a hard push into territory you were actually ready for, but hadn't allowed yourself to explore yet.

"isn't that sort of what it is to be a parent? Both human and alien to and from your children?"

Yes.

I love Steemit so much 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62755.94
ETH 2446.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66