Crestfallen Under the Mistletoe : Poetry Series (THE WORST THING)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

image

Deep in my heart, I'm suffering knowing that I lost you. On the outside I'm living, pretending that I've forgotten you.
-Marilyn Monroe



            The Worst Thing

You walk toward a path,
A path towards my life
It was the worst thing
Yet the best thing in my life.

You were there when I donn't need you
And I hate it when you do.
You were there to make me smile
But I never want it from you.

You were there to make me laugh
But I never want my happiness from you.
And that's the worst thing I've ever done.


You walk away through a narrow path,
A path away from my life
It was the worst thing
Because I'd taken you for granted.

Now I'd missed the jokes you make for me
To smile,
To laugh,
And to cry
Because now I'd realized that it was you whom I needed.





Sort:  

Congratulations @belindabering! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57726.29
ETH 2446.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39