Poetry and Photography / While Lying in BedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170818_090614.jpg

While Lying in Bed

The ceiling fan growls
like a frustrated dog
chasing his tail.

I watch but the mirror
never blinks,
it continually stares
at a spot on the wall.

Cars pass in the street
and tell me it's raining.

The clothes
on the back of the door
are matronly women
who offers kind words
at a funeral.

I try to remember a story,
the plot of a dream
where tall trees have fallen
and the still quiet song
of a sparrow
unravels grey sky.

Sort:  

Good piece. Nicely done!

Many thanks I enjoy looking at your work as well.

This tells quite a story, yet with few words, and well chosen ones at that. I like that it conjures up imagery, and maybe what I see is slightly different to the next reader. Imagery that plays on memory, and hopes and dreams that come with that.

I am at my in-laws this week. As I laid in bed this morning I started writing this poem on my phone. Because it's not sell is mostly the things that I saw and heard around me. The picture of the fan that I used is the one that was circling over the bed. I've been looking around here for something to trigger poem for tomorrow but as of yet I haven't found it.

Best of luck with that. Perhaps it's just the time to not write. I know, perish the thought.

Attitude is a choice. Happiness is a choice. Optimism is a choice. Kindness is a choice. Giving is a choice. Respect is a choice. Whatever choice you make makes you. Choose wisely.

And a choice is a gift to be pondered and not taken lightly.

What an intimate piece! I really feel the longing that you want to depict. The kind of feeling that a pause while the whole world turns could provide. I think it would've worked even better if the picture showed the blades of the fan as it moved, though I understand it's quite hard to capture. Wonderful, wonderful work!

Many thanks, and yes that fan had a mind of its own. It smacked my hand this morning as I was putting on my shirt.

Ach! Sorry to hear that. That must've hurt. When I was a kid, I jumped too high off the sofa and almost got my fingers chopped off by that. I wouldn't have been able to write my RAINBOW series if that was the case.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77