POETRY & PHOTOGRAPHY / A Broken Romance

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

THIS POEM IS ABOUT LOSING SOMETHING OF BEAUTY

lily 1.jpg

I have taken countless photographs
but this photo of a white water lily is one of my favorites. I recall it was taken on a clear afternoon when the the blue sky was reflecting into my backyard pond and turning the water the color of smoke. I believe I have used this picture one other time here on Steemit, but because it fits in so well with the subject of my poem I shamelessly post it again.


My poem hoo in the pines is a minimalistic portrait of a broken romance. It portrays a young couple camping by a lake in the woods. It portrays the moment they separate. The burnt egg shells and the lily submerging are both images of loss.


hoo in the pine

our sleeping bags, heavy with dew,
hang from low branches

you walk to the car
with arms folded tight

the campfire smolders,
egg shells burn on their edges

the morning mist clings to the lake,
a white water lily submerges

Sort:  

@beginningtoend great post love it keep steeming

Hi thanks, will do

Very pretty your poem, you have a real talent! I'll follow you. Continue your creations are great.

Thanks, I appreciate your support, glad you liked the poem.

wow nicely done and yes that pic of smokey water does fit nicely with the poem !! Well done

Thanks, I love how deep the water looks.

In my place, his name is a white lotus. Beautiful photo

Came for white water lily .. but enjoyed your poem too ;)

Thanks, one thing always leads to another.

Resteeemedddddd

Thanks so much.

"you walk to the car
with arms folded tight"

Sure many can relate as do I.
Beautiful picture and poem.
Thanks for sharing.

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it.

It was my pleasure. ♥

A terribly moving image.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75