POETRY AND ART / The Perfect Note #1

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

vib 4.jpg
Sound Wave


The Perfect Note

Wears faded denim,
trembles but not like a junkie,
its more like angelic compassion,
the lifting of souls
desperate and dying.

It glides as a feather on ice,
never stays long in one spot.
It searches, searches
for one special moment,
like unexpected rain
in a desert of sorrow,
or a door that cracks open
revealing new life.

During the day
its a childish scribble
placed in the sky
for a powerful sun.
At night it's blue water,
a river of dreams
flowing outward
between distant stars.

Sort:  

There is an atmosphere here . I feel it .

Glad you do, thanks.

This one is ... pitch perfect! ;) You effortlessly capture the fleeting moment of prominence without ever giving a reference to music. I could really feel the passion leading up to that moment and it just fades away. These types of moments seem all too familiar, and yet we seek it as if it's a rare occurrence. A perfect blend of whimsy and fancy. Awesome work!

Thanks for reading and commenting. I appreciate that you noticed my avoidance of the word music. I always think it's more interesting when you can use different kinds of images to convey an idea and avoid the cliche expressions people are familiar with. It doesn't take me long to want to quit reading a love poem when I started seeing things like her fire, passion, a single red rose, or a poem about freedom that talks about the flight of an eagle, or being unchained. I like words that challenge my thinking and make me see things in a new way.

I do the same thing, so I'm always on the lookout for kindred spirits. There are so many words, might as well dust the ol' dictionary and flex your literary muscles, right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98