POETRY AND ART / The Museum of Childhood Memory

in #poetry7 years ago

museum.jpg

In the Museum of Childhood Memory

Stickmen positioned for battle.
Bombers overhead.
Erasers on Gold Bond

The reluctance of ketchup.
Hot dogs with grill marks.
Embers that glow in the night.

A terrier named Penny.
The smell of damp Earth.
A small backyard grave.

The flutter of vertical hold.
A whistling theme song
on a long country road.

The shade of a tree.
A bee in a jar.
The chatter of cicadas

Fear.
The jolt of a nightmare
that lingers too long.

Unscripted rehearsals of words.
A new girl at school.
The rich red of an alpaca sweater.

A dentist’s black leather chair.
Pain as a spark
of radiant heat.

A lie that is spread like a blanket
to cover a falsehood
ignited by pride.

Sort:  

Very good and nice museum picture and post. @naz722

awesome words .........really amazing:)

Always a pleasure to read your work.

Thank you I'm glad you enjoyed it. It is also a pleasure to see the things you are doing.

I bet this reads so well as spoken word poetry! This does evoke a lot of memories from childhood. I like how you entitled it that way because it does feel like every stanza is a different exhibit. You progress through life as you progress through the museum.

I chuckled when I read the reluctance of ketchup. It is reluctant, isn't it? Most of the others, I couldn't relate to, but I get to live them through your words. It's haunting and fascinating. I can relate to the Fear stanza though, and I could attest that you captured the exact feeling.

Nice work with this. This does not only deserve an upvote, but a hearty resteem as well.

Thanks, I have written several museum poems., The museum of impoderables, the museum of broken hearts, they are all list poems.

Very awesome poem. I love it, thanks for share!

Great read, got me thinking whether all lies aren't out of pride. Quality as usual!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80