POETRY AND ART / Her Assignment

in #poetry7 years ago

05C56F6E-7AE0-49F6-A5B2-8C221245A00D.jpeg

Her Assignment

Rain falls on the steps to the subway,
seeps into my black leather shoes.

Girders are stained with an oily patina,
the platform, littered with discarded passes,
is crowded and grey.

My jacket hangs open and loose,
is missing the button that holds it together.

I swipe at the front of my shirt,
the narrow pinstripes
that are wet from the rain.

As I wait there are stories,
imaginative fiction my mind is creating
from people I see.

One is a student, a young Asian woman
who asks if I’ll help by taking a survey
she needs for a class.

She is timid and fumbles with her pen
and green spiral notebook.

I am drawn to her smile,
the red lacquer paint on her nails
and her bangs hanging over her eyes.

She thanks me for helping,
then quietly whispers
can two perfect strangers
fall in love on a train?

logo 1.jpg

Sort:  

Could be a sliding doors moment in the making.
Two perfect strangers.
Two choices to make.

Thanks, I find the atmosphere of the subway great fuel for the imagination.

Your post is like a proverb or short story ,, sweet post

Thanks glad you liked it.

What happened next?

He is still writing the final scene.

Woah. Those last two lines.

I never saw that coming! Loved that boom-surprise, @beginningtoend! Makes me miss the intrigue of subway commuting...

Ha ha, no subways in Cancun?

But, I am old enough to be her father,
and she hasn't even grown to her clothes
is pedophilia still a crime?

**

Haha! I kid, man. Oh hey oh!! Haha no, seriously. Kidding aside. This is such a wonderful, intimate piece. I really like the longingness in his speech. As always, you write introspection so well.

Thanks, old men still have memories and dreams.

Oh this was mined from experience? Then it's doubly awesome!

Hey there @ beginningtoend I'm a fellow poet like you and I was wondering if maybe you wanted to check out some of my work - https://steemit.com/writingimpact/@lonestarpoet/the-echoes-of-mothers-epiphany-writingimpact

What resounded through me in this poem was hope - which is an ideal that I want to see more of in the world as well :) Even through the rain and difficulties, we will meet the people we need to in our life. Cheers.

Thanks, glad you liked the poem, I will check out your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34