Part Three/ Deep and Beyond, a poetic space trilogy

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

We are constantly moving

stepping this way and that, moving life forward. It is much like a game of connecting the dots, but dots without numbers so the paths are uncertain.

Everyone plays, it’s required. And while it is true, one can spend their whole life on one dot most look ahead and begin to set goals. They chart out a plan so their path draws a picture. But listen, it is not all that easy, the game has a catch. The plans people make seldom work and where they end up and what they have drawn often appear as a total surprise.

And so we must ask, why don’t plans work? Well it seems that the game is loaded with pitfalls, the playing field littered with all kinds of hardships and sorrow.

What keeps it all going, despite all the difficulties, is that some people stumble into glorious outcomes.

Those who have played out the game and found some success have left some advice- to keep yourself sane find peace wherever you are at the moment.


Part Three / Deep into Beyond, a space trilogy

Our astronaut has been executing his plan, traveling through blankets of stars. Along the way he has struggled with loneliness and depression. What will he find in the end?


Introduced to a Queen and I Have Little to Offer

In a Lana Turner dress
and no bigger than Malibu Barbie,
she poses on a consol TV.

Off to her left,
an antenna
is pointing to Earth.

The Postman Always Knocks Twice
flutters and rolls,
needs an adjustment
of vertical hold.

I am clueless
as to how I arrived
or where it might be
that I stand.

A small tin of aspirin
bottoms my pocket.
I forget how they taste,
even the flavors of words
are elusive.

NOTE: An earlier version of this poem was first published by the online journal 1949

If you missed part one click here
If you missed part two click here



When I Get to the End I see the Beginning


A special thanks to all who have started to support my work.
I appreciate feedback and will always try to reply to your comments.
All writing and illustrations are my own work.

If you enjoy what I do please follow @beginningtoend
Also, visit my website GOO FOO

Sort:  

Awesome! Upvote! I am your follower!

Thanks, glad you enjoyed and followed.

I am clueless
as to how I arrived
or where it might be
that I stand.

This is fantastic.

Thanks @prufarchy I think that is a statement that is true for most of us.

Awesome friends are so beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44