Now that I'm Old, I Understand More About Aging

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

As my parents grew old

I saw how simple tasks became difficult for them and worries became mountains. I was often impatient with their fears and had little compassion for their struggles. Now I am the one that is older and perhaps for the first time I understand how problems will built in your mind, get amplified and become all consuming.

My poem Avocado Dart shows the anxiety of an aging couple on an uncertain trip. Oh and meaning of the title, well that is their car , Dart as in Dodge Dart, Avocado as a popular color from back in the 1960's.



Taut Skin Between Knuckles


Avocado Dart

Bill’s arms are like clappers
in loosely rolled sleeves.
His hands, blood bruised
and withered, grip
ten and two.

Ellen stares at a road map
like an uncertain letter,
but loopy on Dramamine
is unable to read it.

A caravan of semis
blows down the highway,
plasters the history
of Indiana litter
on bordering fences.

Bill's whitewalls follow
the shoulder. His anxiety
smells like a wet cigarette,
rises like silos of corn.

He opens his window.
Rain like an arrogant schoolboy
spits on the side of his face.

Ellen closes her eyes
and dreams of an alternate route,
a trip to the beach
with a bright orange
umbrella, the tide
coming in, going out.

The wipers are loud
and leave rainbow streaks.
Bill points to his exit,
follows the signs
that led to the hospital.

Ellen straightens her back,
sucks the dry skin
on her hand.


A special thanks to all who support my work.
I appreciate feedback and try to reply.
All writing and art is my own.

If you enjoy this please follow @beginningtoend
Also, visit my website GOO FOO

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64