I Dug a Deep Hole to Make Them a Home

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

About the Poem

It has been about thirty years since I made my backyard koi pond. I built it before they were the trendy thing to do. So with no plans or guidance, I simply got out my shovel and started digging, then lined the hole with an old swimming pool liner I got from a friend. I remember being eager to add fish, but then deciding it was more logical to put the plants in first. Over the years the pond has matured and become a great natural habitat for countless creatures I never expected.

These days, when I think of all the things I do for enjoyment, hanging out by the pond is one of my favorites. I love to pull up a chair and watch the fish swim. It is total relaxation; even though, most living things out there see me as an intruder.

The poem I have written, Back By The Pond is an observational poem about the things that I see by the pond.


In A Swirl I Forget Where I Am (a photograph the fish in my backyard pond)

Back By The Pond

Day lilies spear
a tangle of vinca,
un-muted they blow
with thelonious
jazz.

A dragonfly darts
here-and-there,
ratchets a pathway
of childish rhymes.

Koi dance in kimonos
silent as overweight monks
with lily umbrellas.

Each white cloud
is fragrant, flashes
on-and-off highlights
on fertile green water.

Two bulging green eyes
look through the duck weed
then disappear.

I stand all alone
in a place to forget,
a refuge that is leery
of me.

Author's Note

In Back By The Pond I am stretching the meanings of words and trusting the reader will make the connections. In stanza two for example, the dragonfly ratchets a pathway. In using ratchets this way I am asking the reader to imagine the sound a dragonfly makes as it flies. Another example is seen in stanza five, where I refer to the fragrance of clouds. The reader has to ask, do clouds have a fragrance? Then they have to think if they do what does it smell like. There are other places in the poem where I use words in unusual ways, but hey, the reader is smart and will figure them out.

Thank you for supporting my work.

Writing and art are my own.

Sort:  

Koi dance in kimonos

I have never considered this, until I read this line, and then it seemed so natural. Of course they do! Why wouldn't they? In poetry imagery is painted with words, and the poet has artistic licence to mould and shape words, and see if the reader will go along for the ride.

The journeys one goes on with your poems never disappoint.

Thanks, it makes me feel good that you see the same image I had in my mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66209.23
ETH 3496.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16