BLACKOUT POETRY / Needlework

in #poetry6 years ago

WHAT IS A BLACKOUT POEM?

A blackout poem is when a poet marks out established text– like in a newspaper– and starts redacting words until a poem is formed. One interesting feature of a blackout poem is that the text AND redacted text create not only a poem, but also a work of visual art.

NEEDLEWORK

Here is another of my experiments with blackout poetry. It is titled, NEEDLEWORK. Below the poem you will find the text it was created from, a dictionary page.

0AE34FCB-C7B6-4DAB-B1F4-C820C795AA3D.jpeg

2AB40C60-16E8-4833-ACAD-0870B634C2E4.jpeg

logo 2.jpg

Sort:  

This is your best blackout poem yet! I really like the added visual element you introduced. It fit well with the whole piece. Knot to be outdone, I started blocking out the page I've had my eye on for a while. It turns out that it was a dud though. I crumple and start my quest over.

You have to go with where ever these take you, the end is never in sight until you get there.

Thanks, man! I'll keep that in mind. For some reason, that kind of sounded like sage wisdom!

Ya, it’s kind of the opposite of your normal operation where you see the end and go for it.

It's quite refreshing! I'm really enjoying the challenge of spotting poetry that sings to me.

eeeh there's too much creativity in niddlework,,it seems not be easy..anway thanks for being creative

wow!amazing art...i appreciate creativity..this poetry very nice..thanks for sharing this post..best of luck.

Glad you liked it.

I love this style of visual poetry.

They are fun to do.

Blackout poetry is really interesting and inspiring. @beginningtoend you are creative; keep it up. I look forward to working with you.

It'd be an absolute torture to me if I don't let you know how much i appreciate what you've done here. Not only knitting together the word but also the visual representation. I love how you challenge yourself in as many artistic forms as possible. This is just on another level--a sublime blend of blackout poetry, ekphrastic poetry, and I think I even caught a whiff of something metaphysical in there. Great job brother!

Thanks, I like doing these, they help break me out of my usual word logic.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

This is crazy enough for me to do it.
Wonderful concept, I will definitely try it!

Hey, give it a try, they are lots of fun.

This is a really cool mix!

Thanks, you should do some of these with your photography.

That's actually a really cool idea, thanks! Feeling inspired already (:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24