ART AND POETRY / Grieving

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

casserole 2.jpg

Grieving

Her mother stands in her bathrobe
and opens the front door.

She gives her daughter calico oven mitts
and says to take this casserole
to our neighbor.

She doesn’t understand why
but she follows her mother's orders
and is ringing my doorbell.

I place the hot dish on the kitchen table
and use a stainless steel spatula to lift
a square slice onto a plate.

I don’t understand why
things have to change
or how time gets away.

Small birds twitter outside my window,
my food becomes too cold to eat.

Sort:  

Thanks, I appreciate your kind words.

Just great!! Kind of quirky--just my kinda thing! Thanks for sharing @beginning to end.

Glad you enjoyed it, quirky is my thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82