A Place That Was Eden

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

UNDERSTANDING A POEM-

Sometimes poets are a little cantankerous, they choose to obscure the meaning of what they have written, they let their writing be surrounded in mystery. Such is the case with my poem A Place That Was Eden, it is not my intention to paint a clear picture, but rather to allow the reader to have freedom to find their own interpretation. Whether they come to the same conclusion as I intended is irrelevant, the important thing is the poem makes a connection on some level and causes the reader to think and to wonder. The poem is staged on a beach and is presented in two parts, early morning and late afternoon.

IMG_20161207_165412.jpg

A Place That Was Eden

I.
Prussian blue warms
as early mist brightens
with lemon.

Low tide reveals a jetty
of barnacled stones.

Waves crash the shore,
a cannibal ritual
consuming their echoes.

A Horseshoe crab
digs in the sand
for its prehistoric past.

I stand as a witness
whose gift is amnesia,
breathe like a lung fish,
a child filled with wonder
as the sun wheels
to gold.

II.
A circle of lavender
falls from my once orange
umbrella.

I study a poem
written in Sanskrit.

A teenager slathered
in coconut oil, turns
like a skewer of pork.

Her mother is wet
from the sea, frantically
claims she was nudged
by a serpent.

I have learned to ignore,
pull down my cap,
its brim torn and jagged,
the bite of a bull shark.

Sort:  

Lovely poem.
Good poems have always swept me off the feet.
Thanks .. and pls do stay in touch.

Thanks, keep watching I post something new most every day, I will look at your blog

And the sense of mystery is what I love. Cleverly, and beautifully worded. Like a masterpiece of fine art, when done right (as yours are), that one can sit and stare at, noticing new aspects each time.

Your poems are deserving of more than one read, and more than one visit.

Thanks and as you know yourself there are often many times that there are even mysteries for the author, times when you discover things in the piece that you hadn't originally planned.

Yes I know that experience well. Sometimes I just set off and follow the words with no actual idea (or just a vague one) of where its all going. A feeling, being translated into words in real time.

And other times a reader will have a completely different take on it than me. And it's something I hadn't considered, but makes perfect sense, once they share it.

great to see posting in poetry and great post !

Awesome poetry man. Love this. Read aloud. "Waves crash the shore, a cannibal ritual consuming their echoes." wow!

Thanks Billy that's one of my favorite lines to it was a last-minute change as I was getting ready to post. Sometimes those last-minute edits work out well and other times I end up changing them back. I think this one will last.

Thanks and yes I did take the photograph it is Treasure Island Florida. I followed you and will watch for your events

Followed back. I really thought I was following you already :)

Haha Billy you were following me that reply was meant for poetry trail.

heheheh cool

Thank you my friend for a nice publication

No problem I'm glad you enjoyed it.

My feeling is a poem that needs to be explained isn't doing its job. A poem should give you chills. This one is a slam-dunk! Very much loved.

Eloquently put, and great picture to fit the mood by the way! Did you take that? Upvoted and Followed!
We of @poetrytrail are always looking for quality content like yours! Hope you will hop on too and take part in our poetry events, it would be a shame if we couldn’t share this great poetry with more of the community!

Thanks and yes I did take the photograph it is Treasure Island Florida. I followed you and will watch for your events

Not enough sex for my taste, but the cannibal was a nice consolation prize :)

You have to read between the lines.

After taking another look (between the lines) I am absolutely appalled, dwarves shouldn't be treated like that!

That wasn't between the lines it was hidden under one of the commas.

`Whose gift is amnesia' this line says a thousand words for me. I really enjoyed it!

Thanks I also like that line, I want to show that the narrator was blind to the lessons of History.

Great work as usual !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63606.08
ETH 2603.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83