Poem of the Day #2

in #poetry7 years ago

5-phases-of-change-e1442210202285.jpg

Hey Steemians!

I love writing, especially poetry. I love reading poetry too. I'm starting a 30 day "Poem of the Day" ritual to encourage myself and others to write poems everyday :) Let's see how it goes!

You're welcome to share links to your poems in the comment section :) Keep the chain going!

Here's Poem #2

Change

There are times when life passes by in a blur
Not a second for memory lapses,
Not a minute for reflection,
No time for any emotion.
These times are when we live in the present
Alive completely for each and every moment.

Then there are days where the hourglass stops,
Where each second is reminiscing
For each minute wasted
Over all the excessive emotions.
These are times when we live in despair
Suspended between the two halves of time.

For all the reasons in the world,
Life is life and time does not stop,
Yet I cannot help but wonder,
Why days of leisure turn sometimes into pain,
When days of exhaustion were nothing but plain.

The bleakness I find in the intricacies of thought,
Are born with the small voice in my head,
Which contradicts each pleasant thought,
When all I wanted was a laugh.
That voice reigns over my mind, blocking from sight,
Erasing rationality along with joy.

On days of bleakness, suspension and distress,
I find myself wanting a little stress,
To channel my desperation
For some unwanted attention.
These days I am a person I don't know,
And these days I feel the Change anew.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70