Lunch?

in #poetry7 years ago

The water is black
Gray sky overhead
White wave caps
Revealed by a lightning flash

The current is rushing
Washing over my eyes
I fight to face the sky

I am swallowing to much river
Unable to stroke
I peer downward for an answer
I cannot stay afloat

Surges cover my nostrils
Breathlessly I gasp
Head submerged in water
I've no limbs attached.

Aimlessly I sink
No chance of making strokes
I spot a feathered flyer
Raging towards me tailed by fire

My mind tends not to lie
Perhaps oxygen is lacking
I swear the flaming phoenix
Halted my descending

I awake with legs returned
On a bank of pounded ash
I extend my feet before me
Not regretting risky tasks

Danger lingers in me
All because of hope
That once again that firebird
Will return to save my soul

Sort:  

Congratulations @axisofashes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @axisofashes! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60807.32
ETH 3349.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48