The Lie That Is Love

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180529_231551_660.JPG

You know, when we first met,
I thought the sun rose and fell because of you,
Your shy smile made me feel like a King, like I was cool and fresh,
I boasted to my friends that I had found my Queen, even my enemies heard too.


I swaggered up and down my Kingdom, riding on the high of being your first.
Alas no good thing lasts; at least that‟s what they told me,
They said you were fickle, impossible, and too good to be true,
I laughed then, but I didn‟t know the joke was on me,
Even now I wish I had heeded all the warnings, especially when I knew you hated blue.


You would think I‟d bleed, on my knees, crushed by hubris,
But I stand, aloud, in defiance of your smile.
I have died this death a few times or six,
All you did was reinforce my belief that true love is a lie.

Sort:  

You got a 2.26% upvote from @upme thanks to @awolesigideon! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

I love the rhyming of the words , yet this feels completely heart written and sad , however I don't agree with the wordings in love u get those that come in ur life as a trial to u who's not there to stay n along with their passing many hurts it's not true love .

Thank you so much for your kind words. I appreciate it much much

Baby this is so beautiful yet so heart breaking! Love is real... You just need to find "true" love. Be patient, be good, be true and you will eventually find it

Thanks Babe. I'll try

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78