You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life is worth living

in #poetry6 years ago

I have gone back from here to examine a number of your poems. You write a variety of poems that shows you have creative ideas, but almost all your poems have one fatal flaw.

I bet you think of it as your style of writing, but actually, if you were submitting your poems to a teacher of poetry, he would tell you the same, it is a flaw, not a style.

Part of writing a poem is in having the ability to touch your reader and grab a corner of his imagination and emotions.

You cannot do that by repeating the same line, again and again, even if you change it slightly now and then:

having the ability to touch your reader and grab a corner of his imagination and emotions.

Did my repeating myself contribute anything? Apart from it serving as an example of why you should not keep on repeating yourself - no, none at all.

I guess you are annoyed with me, but please, go back and read the last five poems you have written and now that I have drawn your attention to what you are doing, you'll see it for yourself.

It is a pity, for otherwise, I like your writing.

I'll follow for a while, just to see if you try to improve. If you do, I'll continue and encourage you when I can.

Sort:  

Thank you for your input. You are right I did think of it as a writing style of sort, but since you pointed it out it may not be appropriate. I'll try changing how I compose my poem and I appreciate more input from you. Thank you for dropping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56582.63
ETH 2959.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25