A Wanted Future

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I will look at you,
but I won't do anything.
I'm curious, I'm interested,
but I won't do anything.
Not anything you can see.

Thoughts are some kind of dreams.
And if in dreams minutes are hours
and hours are days, weeks or years
we are well into our forties now.
This is a future I wanted.

We're sipping champagne
watching a movie
all cozied up on the couch.
A white couch.
The glass coffee table is spotless,
the fireplace is so romantic
and there are still rose petals on the floor.
Maybe we'll go on a drive at midnight.
Who knows?
I'm loving this.
This is a future I wanted.

Back here you might feel awkward,
I'm still looking. By now it's staring.
You get up and leave.
I'm still staring where you were.
Might never know your name
but I've had my story,
I've lived it just now.
It was great. It was nice.
It was a future I wanted:
One of the futures.

and now I move on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13