The Quiet

in #poetry7 years ago

Sometimes when I look at you everything seems quiet
It's like the earth stops spinning and my mind stops running away.

My mind has been at war but i'm coming home so soon.

When you suffer with a mental illness things never seem quiet
But sometimes when I look at you I can hear the sound of silence

I have days where my anxiety will throw me from tall buildings
and before I hear myself screaming to stop, I'm already on the floor

But when I look at you things never seem so dull
I'm filled with self hatred and blame,
Sometimes a smile is hard to portray

Citalopram, Buccastem, Mirtazapine, Zopiclone, Fluoxetine, Sertraline, Venaflaxine
None of it ever seemed to work
But my mind is coming home so soon

You're the only one I've met that can make this world seem quiet
The sound of silence is what I've aquired

I've crawled through the darkest holes and curled up in the coldest corners

But nothing quite stops my breathing like when you're holding me in your arms.

Sort:  

I like how the complex words for the drugs disrupted the flow you had established. I would imagine this is a parallel to what you have experienced with these drugs.

Thank you for your comment. It's been one hell of a ride but recovery is sweet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66892.02
ETH 3513.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67