Poetry Mania: A Poem about Innocence, Wither and Wisdom

in #poetry8 years ago

About INNOCENCE

From an Unborn to a Mother

I do not know you
Not the color of your eyes
Or the crook of your teeth
Not the constellation of moles on the back of your neck
I do not know you

You must have slipped me between your pelvic one night
And forgot to send out a warning signal
Bypassed my opinion
Did not ask if I wanted to be here in the first place

And now all I see is darkness
Dancing and floating in an ocean inside of you
I cannot tell the nook of your womb
From the chambers of your heart

Perhaps I am in both
And in many other places, too
I am in the crease folds of your heart
I cannot tell what part of you from which I rest

I do not know you
And yet your ocean is where I breathe best
I can trace the shape of your face
By the rhythm of your heartbeat
And I am almost certain that without you
The world will keep spinning without me, too

So on the day you push me out of your body
Forgive me, I'm still not used to the spin
Take my hand until I squint open my eyes
Take me in your arms
Even if I'm still drenched in your saltwater

They will cut out tethered bodies in two
So you can teach me how to swim alone
But take my hand
We will swim, paddle and dive
And I promise as soon as I find my own voice
"Thank you" will be the first words I say.


About WITHER

Should Haves

I should've seen it coming
Signs were all over the places;
I should've listened to the warnings,
But I didn't.

First, it was just words;
Then, slaps after punches,
But I didn't mind the bruises
The words left me more scarred.

Pain, hurt and regret;
This is all I have left,
Now I don't know where I'm going;
Your arms are still my longing.

I should have...


About WISDOM

A Speck of Dust

A speck of dust
dirty and small
not moving at all
it sits and stays
until something comes its way

Unknown to all
with multiple, conquer over
yes it sits and stays
until something comes its way

A gush of wind swayed
alas,it moved its way
twisting and turning it went
to a place the wind had it sent

Now as it went with the wind
found a multiple others,it did
what was once unknown and small
was made clear to all

A speck of dust it was
it conquered all because
it went where the wind blew
and set a mark when it was through


Photo credits: Giphy.com

Follow me @annesaya

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63