Sort:  

It is very heartbreaking, the brilliant thing is that you never tell the reader but there is poignancy in every word.

Thanks, Charu! There was much tell in the first draft, though, haha.

I will weep until they run dry
and my chest no longer burns.

So much emotions. I can somehow relate, my grandma also passed away and it was really heartbreaking for me. She was the one who raised me and during that time, I felt like my world is falling apart. I was not yet interested to poetry back then, so maybe the emotion and feelings are still here, present in my heart. Thank you for sharing @anikekirsten

Thanks for reading, Ree. It's difficult losing those who have impacted your life greatly. I must say that poetry was the best way to get the feelings out. Its beauty helps to heal.

I can really relate. You're welcome. I look forward to your future poems. :)

This is so beautiful and sad. Thank you for sharing your mourning with us. hugs

Thank you, Rose. hugs

Where a hero sleeps, alone.

As do all heros. So true. All we can do is immortalize them in our hearts. Remember them. Certainly fitting to immortalize such an important man to you in poetry, no higher honour indeed. Lovely words Anike, thank you for sharing them.

Indeed, yes. He still lives on in memory. Thank you, Major!

This is beautiful and sad and melancholy.

The mourners leave, forgetting. My tears still flow and remember.
Easily my favorite line...because it's true. Everyone else moves on from their duty of sadness, except for one person. The sadness never leaves them.

So much, yes. It gets better, but it never goes away. Thank you for reading, Neg. Much appreciated.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Oh, my! Of course yes!

What an outstanding poem this is. You bring both loss and love to the page with a deft and subtle touch. There is a strength and inevitability to the writing here that makes if feel like form poetry. Outstanding.

Thank you so much, 3B! <3

The emotional impact you've woven into this piece is only as crushing as it is beautiful, @anikekirsten.

Your use of subtle imagery and observational personification of the elements adds a larger than life feel to the somber atmosphere and simultaneously draws in any who have felt loss, and comforts them in knowing they aren't alone in these feelings.

In a piece like this where every line is impactful and carries so much meaning, it's difficult to pick a few out, but I just wanted to highlight how much I loved these:

Where a hero sleeps, alone.
Armour replaced by a white
wooden casket.

the metaphor here just says so much about the kind of man your grandfather is in so few words, it's gorgeous.

The mourners leave, forgetting.
My tears still flow and remember.

the contrast created by these lines eases the reader through the turn of the poem, and I think it's really masterfully done.

Can he see all my tears?
A cold wind tells me no.

and this couplet; where to even begin? It floored me the first read, and the third, and the...

This is a piece of incredible vulnerability and beauty, Anike, and I feel privileged to have been able to read it. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you, Carmalain, for reading! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, as sad as it is. He was a man greater than words, indeed.

My condolences. Your dad is amazingly talented.

Thanks, Jaundre. And he'll be glad to hear that.

Truly a beautiful poem, and more strong than ever. Thank you for writing it, to allow us to share in your very personal but also universal feelings.

Thank you, Noby! Your suggestions were priceless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80