I see the Sea

in #poetry6 years ago

IMG_2019.JPG

Freshwater Bay, Isle of Wight, UK

I see the Sea, the Sea sees Me

The tide comes up
The tide goes down
It happens every day
Are you like me, oh glorious sea
Coming in and going away?

Up and down, here and gone
You’re always on the move
You never tell us why because
You have nothing to prove

Here I am on shifting sands
Standing all alone
Feeling disconnected
A dog waiting for a bone

All around me, everywhere
Lie memories of things past
While up ahead I’ll one day tread
In fields, on sand, on grass

What footprints might I leave
In those places yet to come
What will I think, what will I be
My work, it isn’t done

I want to take a message
And share it every day
So tell me now majestic sea
And I’ll be on my way

I get it now
You come and go
You rise and then you fall
I needn’t try to be so still
It happens to us all

It’s ok to shift and sway
It’s always been that way
I know they didn’t tell me that
They could have, every day

But truth lies beyond words on Earth
And there is so much noise
If you listen with intent to ‘them’
You’ll never find your poise

I’m going now, to do my thing
And find those who will listen
I’ll be back soon, for more from you
Or just to watch you glisten.

Sort:  

Profound thinking and brave expressing.

There's an old Native American proverb aspects of your poem remind me of:
'Listen to the wind, it talks. Listen to the silence, it speaks. Listen to your heart, it knows.'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56835.87
ETH 2399.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39