Trash and Traffic

in #poetry6 years ago

I stand looking out from a mountain,
Of trash,
A man made monument to stupidity,
Across a mountain range,
Of trash,
The disposable plastic society of humanity,
Symbolised by plastic fantastic,
Micro plastics that ball into fish,
A food chain of trash,
And I wonder where is our song?
Where did humanity go so wrong?
Can all of this ever be undone?

Can we ever learn to love again,
Our planet upon which we dwell,
After all we have science,
Folk don’t believe in hell,
So why not create it ourselves,
Let’s celebrate how far we’ve travelled,
By car,
Pumping particulates into the air,
Why should we care?
And I wonder where is our song?
Where did humanity go so wrong?
Can all of this ever be undone?

So I sit here in my automobile,
Looking at you, looking at me,
You race to get ahead,
Inate desire to be first through the lights,
Mobile metaphors of insanity,
Acronyms of anthill activities,
Climbing up hills of our own stupidity,
So we can get to the top and stand proud,
On our mountains of trash!
And I wonder where is our song?
Where did humanity go so wrong?
Can all of this ever be undone?

Sort:  

Hey, just wanted to let you know I gave you an upvote because I appreciate your content! =D See you around

Thank you that’s really kind and much appreciated. I followed you to show my appreciation although strangely the upvote hasn’t registered yet :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75