One Step [Poem]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago


One step,
Then another,
And another after.
That's how you live
When all the world is
Falling apart around you.
You take one step and another.
Once you take enough steps forward
You lift your head up and scan the horizon.
You take stock of what you have left in your pack
And you realize that you can keep going, even now.
The weight of all that destruction and chaos around you
Suddenly doesn't feel quite so crushing, and then it hits you:
You're okay. You're alive. You're here, and you haven't been obliterated.

You're going to make it, no matter the terrifying storm screaming all around.
You can raise your chin a little higher as you shift your pack on your back.
Each step you take feels a little bit lighter, a little easier than before.
The pain and agony of the end of your world fades just a shade
From what it was moments before you lifted your head.
Your feet and legs are heavy, but they're still moving.
Your heart hurts and your body screams for relief,
But each step forward you take is a step
Away from despair and sorrow.
Each step pulls you forward.
Each step makes you new
And whole once more.
You can live again.
And it just took
One step.


Well, this is my first stab at poetry since...hell, senior English class. I hope you guys enjoy it. I was inspired to make this from the conversations going on in General chat on PALnet.


Like what you read? Follow me, @anarcho-andrei, for more fiction and non-fiction!

Andrei Chira is an anarcho-capitalist, former 82nd Airborne paratrooper, vaper, and all-around cool guy. He's a father to one wonderful little girl named Kate, lives down in Alabama, and spends his time writing stories, posting to Steemit (not as much as he probably should), and cultivating the mental fortitude to make it through three years of law school.


Sort:  

Fantastic effort!! And you say this is your first venture into the world of poetry. If you keep the level of quality this high, this may easily lead to a great little sub-blog to your existing one!!

Great job, bud... :)

Thank you! As always, I welcome any words of praise from other authors.

Pleasure, bud. :)

Interesting thing on how you put those words in poem in increasing and descending!

I started with the first line and the second, and it just sort of clicked in my head to add that depth to the words themselves. I'm glad you enjoyed it. :D

Beautiful and profound! I love poetry. For your first stab at this, it was great! I hope you'll keep writing and inspiring others! ❤️

Thank you so much! Your praise was tremendous and I appreciate you taking the time to read, and leave this here. :)

My pleasure, friend! ❤️

You always paint such nice pictures with your words. Reading this was almost like a movie reel in my head, it was actually the weirdest thing. But I like it. Lol.

And you always have nice things to say about my words, baby :) I wanted to give the impression of building steam, slowly but surely.

Beautiful aesthetics! The layout is very unique and fits perfectly with the poem! As for the context, I really like how the tension is building up in the first stanza, then in the end it soothes. And then it all just grows into a calm ending, ending is a mere 'one step'. Well done and thank you for sharing!

PS: If you are interested and have some spare time, I have some poetry on my blog too. :)

This is simply wonderful. Here I am thinking that you should be writing poetry on a daily basis. This is just so awesome, man! I really love the message of hope, and the feeling of encouragement this whole piece provides. It's seeping with emotion that just couldn't be contained. Especially when I know where these words are coming from. Simply brilliant!

As you know, I love experimental literature. I have done something similar like this in the past, but this is just something I will never be tired of. Truly deserves a heaping pile of votes and resteems. So I've done my part, Steemit, it's your turn. Great job, man! :D

Why am I not surprised to see you here heaping praise on me? XD As always, I appreciate your kind words, my friend. I was hanging around in General chat on the PALnet Discord, and things were getting pretty heavy which is what inspired this poem. Drew inspiration from my own struggles. I'm glad you enjoyed it, and given the positive reception, maybe I will try my hand at more poetry.

I mean, if you think I should write more of it, who am I to deny you the chance to read it? :D

Am I getting predictable? Perhaps one day I'll just stop commenting altogether hahaha!

Congratulations @anarcho-andrei! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05