The smallest arts can sometimes take years to finish- here's how my written piece evolved years later.

in #poetry5 years ago

I previously posted a one line poem that I wrote about a year ago. I'd actually written the first line SO many times and tried to write more. Months or a year and many scribbles later, the one line didn't evolve. I accepted that the poem was meant to be short and sweet.

The piece that I speak of is one of my favorites. It kind of echoes and fades into the air not actually ending at the last written word. I love the softness and open possibility of the story.

And then something interesting happened- I opened up Facebook Stories prepared to write a short poem and like many times before, I started with that echoing sound. Without pressured thought, there it was... it had been waiting years to come out.

At first, I was startled by the use of what I had now considered complete. No!!! I like it the way it is; it's perfect, I thought. Until I looked at the finished product.

Rather than consider this a revised piece I've decided that the one liner is still a poem of its own; there's now two different works that have that lingering echoed butterfly of combined words.

Here's the original:

And, here's the new work: 


Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 7.45% upvote from us for your 1750 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you friend. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

nice work @anaclark. It's not often poetry will catch my attention I like the use of backstory to introduce this one.

Stories whispered truly will be missed for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58